Hello!

Hi,

I'm a newbie chilli grower from the South East of England.

With my interest in growing my own food increasing greatly since I became vegan last year I started this year growing 3 different varieties.

jalapenos;

I pickled some of these (they were great) froze the rest and forgot to save any seeds, DOH! hopefully I missed one on the plant that I can get some seeds from or I'll have to resort to hoping that they'll survive the freezing/defrosting process.

Cayenne;

I think that's what they are, long curved and green, turning to red (I think these were grown from seeds taken from the usual supermarket chilli's here in the UK so whatever they are.) I used some of these fresh and dried the rest.

Other variety;

I have no idea what these are, I was given the seeds as a gift for christmas. They grew hundreds of small purple chillis which turned orange and then red. These I've mostly dried but the plants still got a fair few on it so I may dry some more and make some chilli powder.

Here's a pic of the plant early on in it's fruiting if anyone can identify it;

Last year I also made chilli sauce, the ingredients I seem to remember being were just vinegar and chilli's, it was very hot and a half teaspoon of it added to a can of baked beans made it very spicy. Unfortunately it got knocked on the floor smashing the jar and wasting it all. :fireball:

I don't get to eat the chilli's all that much since I live with and cook food for people who don't like their food too spicy. The pickled jalapenos seem ok for everyone though. I think I need to make myself some chilli condiments so I can add it to just my food without upsetting everyone else.

I suppose you could say I'm now hooked on chilli's and I plan to grow many many plants next year of all the varieties I can get hold of.

I look forward to using the forum :lol:

[quote name='imaguitargod']Ah HA! Found the thread that we were talking about that plant. It's right here. We never got an answer....[/QUOTE]