commercial-kichen NJ : co-packer and commercial kitchen rental

Hi

I came upon this forum Sat night while doing research on starting a spicy/hot sauce and pickle business. Very encouraged to see the sharing in this forum. I am in NJ. I am still testing out my sauces and pickles at home. A few questions. How do I go about locating a co-packer who will pack spicy sauces and pickles? What’s the smallest batch production that a co-packer will do? Are the “test runs” usually part of the contract? Does the co-packer have cheaper ingredient suppliers? My plan is to start selling on a weekend Farmers’ market (marketing) – would it be more economical for me to produce them in a commercial kitchen versus going straight to a co-packer?

I have been doing my research for a few months on renting a commercial kitchen in NJ for (and specifically) in Central NJ. It is not easy! Any to recommend on part time rental arrangement?

Thanks

Chillipadi

Certainly can. Chillipadi, I would stick with the commercial kitchen for now. If you are looking to do farmers markets and the like, you probably won't need 500+ jars of product to start. If you need help locating commercial space, and you are in Central Jersey, contact Rutgers University's culinary department, and they may be able to find you space either cheaper or closer to where you live.

Co-packers are fine if your volume begins to grow. Co-packers minimum batch sizes can vary widely, as can their prices.

Chillipadi said:
Hi