• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Anyone use Al's (Tapla) Gritty Mix or 5:1:1 Bark based mix?

I just discovered this type of mix this year from the other pepper forum. It isa nice mix with better drainage than commercial potting soils and even Pro Mix. Since i am new to it, I am having to make adjustments with watering and fertilizing. Just want to hear your experiences with this type of mix and the adjustments you had to make.

The major problems I had were transplanting seedlings into this mix instead of waiting until they were more mature. Transplant shock is the best guess from others on the other forum that were trying to diagnose from pictures. Basically the seedlings are alive but not growing after a week or so of being in the new mix. Other seedlings that were at the same growth stage that were not transplanted but in the original Pro Mix are growing and twice the size of the seedlings in the 5:1:1 (Bark x 5, Perlite x 1, Peat x 1) mix. Your thoughts / suggestions are appreciated.

I tried Al's 5:1:1 bark mix. I too transplanted seedlings into this mix very early on and the plants looked bad. After awhile I transplanted them into pro-mix like my other plants and they recovered. I'll be sticking with Pro-Mix or something similar to it next year.

I just discovered this type of mix this year from the other pepper forum. It isa nice mix with better drainage than commercial potting soils and even Pro Mix. Since i am new to it, I am having to make adjustments with watering and fertilizing. Just want to hear your experiences with this type of mix and the adjustments you had to make.