• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Growing peppers and having pets

Since I'm a newbie, is this something I should be concerened about or should dogs be smarter than to eat a Bhut Jolokia or a Trinidad Scorpion?

My rottweilers do enjoy mulch, compost, their own crap on occasion, and pretty much everything else including a fish in my pond and some water lillies too. I don't want to kill them by growing hot peppers :)

Thanks!

Dogs have the habit of murdering chile plants in cold chlorophyll. even if they don't eat them, and they do... even though it hurts... they're curious and like to play with things. DO NOT LET THEM PLAY WITH YOUR CHILE PLANTS! fence them or something.

The plants in the Solanaceae (Nightshade) family can be toxic to pets and humans. As I understand it, the plant contains the toxins but the fruit does not. However, as we all know, the fruit contains Capsaicin which in itself is not toxic but highly irritating to our furry friends' mucus membranes. Keep them from chewing on your pepper plants for safety and from eating the peppers out of kindness.

As far as I know, Capsicum plants are not poisonous... never mind the fact Capsaicin is mostly considered a poison and there is such a thing as Capsaicin poisoning.

Concerned? Yes! Just not in a "OMG they'll kill my dog or cat" sort of way. I'd say your concern may/should be more of a "OMG they chewed da heck outta all my seedlings!" kinda thing. Most animals taste things there curious about. I've got a cat and a dog. Dog could care less about my plants, but the cat....ever since two of my plants started flowering, she won't leave em alone. I watch em like hawk now, cause I've no idea what her intentions are....don't care to find out either.