• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

How do I make powdered pepper?

sorry if this is the wrong section. Im totally new at pepper growing and i have yet to harvest my bhut jolokias. they still havent grown any fruits yet, but what id like to know is how to turn my pepper from fruit to a powder form. im going to make some hot sauce but id also like some jolokias in powder form. like powdered garlic or cheyenne. what are the steps?

You can get an inexpensive dehydrator for around 35-40 bucks and a cheap coffee grinder for 10-15 and you're in business. That's what I did and works fine. There are other methods such as the oven or air drying but more complicated.

When you look for a dehydrator try to get one with a temp control on it!
Preferably that goes as low as 95f .That way you can retain a wonderful color while having the seeds remain viable!
I usually cut mine in half and they dry twice as fast.
As far as grinding them I learned a great trick from the people here.
Use your blender base screwed onto a mason jar!
It works so great for me! and you dont have the big dust cloud to contend with!

Kevin

If I find a cheap dehydrator in my area, ill definitely grab one. Are there any other ways to dry them other than air drying them? I heard that takes a month outside, and im afraid some bug might start to eat my peppers. Do I leave the seeds intact while dehydrating or do I deseed them? I also heard a coffee grinder works well to dehydrate them, but im not sure. Also, what are some good recipes? Im sure the powder calls for more than just peppers? Any help?

Coffee grinder won't dehydrate, works well to grind dried peppers and as Kevin said the blender w/mason jar is a great way to go. A dehydrator is well worth it, I bought my Nesco with temp control at Amazon for about 35