• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

My first Jolokia, budding?

G'day Everyone,

This is my first time growing Bhut Jolokia actually any chilli for that matter, I am used to growing other herbs :lol: but discovered HOT chilli
a few months back and can't get enough of the hot stuff! I am addicted, I need atleast one serving a day.

Anyway I have posted a couple of pics of my first attempt at the Bhuts, the first photo is of 3 bhuts about 15 weeks old
except the center plant is 13 weeks, I decided to grow them in 250mm(10in) pots as I don't really have much garden space,
and this way I can follow the sun around!
I started them in peat pots with seed raisingmix and they really didn't do much until I hit them with a nitrogen boost, they seem to be
slow growers as I expected them to be much taller at this stage?

jolokia_3pots.jpg

The next photo is of what I am hoping is the beginning of the flowers! Yeha...
I have circled the area where I think the buds are but you have to look closely as my little camera can't focus any better, what do you think?

jolokia_buds.jpg

Seen in this last photo is a local who visits my plants with hoards of his friends daily,
I have never seen this type of fly before but they seem to like my chilli plants although they don't seem to be doing any damage.

jolokia_fly.jpg

Any feedback on how you think my plants are progressing would be appreciated,
and if they are the buds appearing do I need to boost the potassium etc...

Thanks...

:welcome: Welcome from W.A