• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Arrgh! I've pwn3d 2 Naga plants

This is being written out of fustration, sadness, and as a warning to those growing the Holy Grail of peppers, the Naga Morich. I've found that our Nagas may be one of the strongest peppers capsaicin wise, but it's one of the weakest plant/stem wise I've ever seen!!

Let me explain by telling my short heart breaking story.

Yesterday I planned to re-route some of my Nagas and Savinas above the first ring of their tomatos cages since they are getting pretty big (about 2 ft by 2 ft). I use small cages for all my peppers so they get good support for growing without fear of wind destroying them as we do get some strong wind/storms around my area at times. I know to be very gentle when moving the stems around, but I've never to my knowledge broke a pepper stem. I've broken a few tomato stems but they are a dime a dozen, this is my first year of growing Naga's and I want them to be pampered as much as possible so I know to be extremely careful. Well, wouldn't you know it, the first stem I try to slightly bend to negotiate up and ontop of the first ring I hear 'Snap,' off came a 12" branch with 9 pods starting on it!! I lost my breath and started hyperventilating, I almost started crying and just wanted this to be a nightmare I could wake from! The stem busted right apart in the middle as easy as breaking a very dried twig, it is clean cut like it was done with sizzors! I barely moved the dumb thing and now the plant will suffer and live with this tragedy.. I decided to not mess with this one and moved unto the next, thinking that it must've been just a week stem for some reason and this woulcn't happen again. Well, plant #2 and the first stem I try moving again and 'Snap!' WTH? These plants are the weakest little things I've ever seen! A blade of Grass is stronger then the stem of a Naga!! Am I alone here? Has anyone else had this happen? I've