• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Aussie280's first season grow log

Hi guys,

I thought I'd share with you a diary of my first years attempt of growing from seed.

I am a complete novice and started 3 weeks ago with sowing some seeds directly into top soil and others in jiffy pellets. This included

Serrano
Bhut Jolokia
Chocolate Habanero
Tabasco
Numex Twilight
Cilegia Picante
Fatalli
Hot Lemon Chilli
Aji Amarillo
Bishops Crown
Birds eye baby

Along came a lovely Melbourne storm which pick up my temp greenhouse and moved it a meter or so. The result was my seed trays went flying.

I sifted through the remains and replanted what seeds I found. JR also came to the rescue and sent a few more seeds to me. What a great guy !!

Anyway the Melbourne weather although spring has been unpredictable with cold and windy weather so I quickly made up a hot box with t8 grow lights and a small heat pad which is normally used to keep lizard's warm to see if that would work.

I keep the light on from 6am to 9pm and the heat pad on all the time. This is covered up by an old towel to keep the heat in the box. This seems to work really well.

Pics below shows my first attempt of a heat / light box.

Light box by aussie280, on Flickr

This shows the seeds that are germinating so far.

Mixture of chili seeds germinating by aussie280, on Flickr

Due to the replanting of the seeds there are many that are no longer labeled. Does anyone know what this chilli seedling is? The leaves seem to cross over..its very different from the others. germinating.

What type of chilli is this seedling? by aussie280, on Flickr

So this is it at the moment. My seedlings are about 3 days old. I have another tray of seeds that I'm waiting to see if they germinate too..fingers x.

Things I've learned so far.
* Secure your greenhouse properly
* Use jiffy pellets to start seeds...its real easy.