• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

My First Hot Sauce

Ingredients-
1 tbsp olive oil
½ cup vinegar
¼ cup yellow mustard
¼ cup brown sugar
1 tbsp salt
1 tbsp pepper
3 Bhut Jolokia Peppers (chopped, no stem)
3 large carrots (chopped)
3 cloves garlic (minced)
½ large onion (chopped)

Instructions:
-Heat oil, vinegar, and mustard in saucepan on stovetop, medium heat.
-Stir until consistent
-Stir in brown sugar, salt, and pepper until consistent.
-add remaining ingredients and simmer on low-medium heat.
-Pour contents into blender and puree until consistent.

I had to add roughly a cup of water while pureeing it to get the consistency right (you may want to add more to make it less thick). I also added in various spices that I had lying around (cinnamon being the one that added to the taste the most).

Overall, I am very happy with the way it turned out, especially since its my first attempt at a home-made hot sauce. It has a very sweet taste at the beginning, the carrots and brown sugar really brought out the pepper's flavor. And then the burn kicks in. Its great as a way to flavor a dish, but if you add it to something that's already prepared it will overpower the flavor of everything else. I really liked it as the spice to a buffalo chicken dip. I can post the recipe to that also if anyone is interested. I welcome criticism, so if you've got any sustains/improves that you can think of then fire away.

sounds good. I would have left out the olive oil, but others I am sure would leave it. I have read that oil in a sauce helps for using on wings and such, but it is your creation. CONGRATS!

BTW we love
flash.gif
flash.gif
flash.gif
flash.gif