• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

Egg Roll Wraps for poppers?

So, have any of y'all tried using egg roll wraps instead of breading for poppers? A friend of mine told me I should try it, and I have egg roll wraps and plenty of peppers, so I was going to have a go.

I've never tried to make egg rolls, though, so I've never used the wraps before. I was kinda thinking I could just chop the peppers and mix them in the cheese and herbs instead of stuffing the pepper like you do in traditional poppers. Its going to be around 100F and muggy outside today, so it's a good day to play inside... LetUsAllPauseToPraiseCentralAC-

~**PRAISE CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING**~

Anyway, I bought egg roll wrappers and won ton wrappers to play around with, and would be delighted if someone who has used these before has any hints or suggestions.

Pam...what peppers? Are you going for a White Lotus Kung Fu Master Asian kind of popper or...? Thinking about it myself, I might try chopped chicken or pork mixed with garlic and scallions either in the pepper or combined as you mention. I do believe it would go very well with a simple dipping sauce of soy and lemon. Tell us how it goes.

I was approaching this from the popper angle, so I was thinking cheesey goodness. I would choose the pepper according to the heat I wanted. I like your idea, though. I haven't started yet, but one of my concerns was the size of the finished product. I don't want something unwieldy or more wrap then filling.

See, I make poppers from peppers of all sizes, some of my poppers are small enough to pop in your mouth. The ones I make from Pimiento De Chiero peppers aren't much bigger than a jellybean.