• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

curling up?

Howdy learned pepper heads :shocked:

As a total pepper newb I'm wondering what the reason for this upward curling of the leaves might be?

Perhaps this is 100% normal, but as I am UN-learned, asking seems to be my best course of action :)

I did do a search and found several threads dealing with leaves curling DOWN, but not up like these.

Elsewhere I found a page that indicated this could be the result of over fertilization, but since I have used NO fertilizer at all this seems unlikely :)

These are Caribbean Red Habanero. The lighting isn't really as red/orange as this picture appears. The light is too bright for the camera and it comes out like this.

carib3.jpg

It could be anything from thrips to nutritional problems. There is also a condition known as "Physiological Leaf Roll" caused by a variety of environmental factors like too much or too little water, too much nitrogen, light intensity, ect.

What kind of potting soil are you using? So many of them have fertilizer added. What kind of lights, and how close are they to the plants? What are the temperatures at leaf level? What's your watering scheme?

Safer Soap will handle thrips, but you have to apply once a week for several weeks as they have a very short life cycle in warm temperatures.

Its miracle grow potting mix, which does have some time release fertilizer in it, but they've been in these pots since they germinated 3 weeks ago and this curling just started 2 days ago.

In my reading in the last couple weeks I've noted that you do not appear to be a big fan of miracle grow :shocked:

Its what was on hand though, so its what I used.

They are in a 4x5 grow room I built with one 400 watt HPS lamp,
and a pair of 2 tube 4' fluorescent fixtures. HPS lamp is around 2500 kelvin, fluorescents are around 5000 kelvin.
Total light output is around 67,000 lumens.