• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds New to growing peppers from seeds

Hi, pardon the long post. I am just beginning to get into pepper growing and have quite a few questions.

I just recently purchased a house in the city in South Philadelphia with my fiance which has an outdoor deck. So, within the past week I decided that I wanted to grow some peppers. I had grown peppers from plants previously from Home Depot but never from seeds. I figured since I have some deck space I might as well give it a shot and try.

I've been researching online about how to properly grow peppers and picked up a few things to get me started. I picked up both the Hydrofarm Seedling Heat Mat & Hydrofarm Digital Thermostat for Heat Mats from Amazon and a bunch of seeds from two online vendors. I went with The Pepper Gal and Old Barn Nursery for my seeds. I know I'll have to pick up a seed tray also. Below are the seeds that I had picked up:

Old Barn Nursery
  • Chocolate Habanero
  • Red Savina Habanero
  • White Habanero
  • Mustard Habanero
  • Red Bhut Jolokia
  • 7 Pod Yellow
The Pepper Gal:
  • Ancho
  • Cayenne
  • Cayenne (Thick)
  • Cherry
  • El Jefe Jalapeno
  • Habanero
  • Italian Roaster
  • Mexibell
  • Serrano
Some questions about starting the seeds:
  1. Is there a good instructional video on prepping the seeds and how to germinate with a heat mat?
  2. When using the heat mat, does it run constantly until they break the surface and sprout? Any hazards with running a heatmat?
  3. Once they sprout I would just transplant to a pot with some a potting mix? Is Miracle Gro a good option?
  4. The seed packets that I have purchased contain about 20-25 seeds per packet. When using the seed tray do you plant just one seed or a coupon in each cup?