• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Newbie way over his head

Newbie here. I wanted to grow a few hot chili plants this year. Maybe five or six. I used seeds from some habs from the grocery store and I bought some seeds including some super hots. Didn’t think I had a chance of growing much so I planted like sixty seeds. I figured out of sixty maybe six will survive since I’m such a novice. After a week of no sprouts, I planted twenty more… Because of all the great info on this site, I now have about sixty five healthy little plants. I didn’t plan on spending much money but now I’ve made a grow box, bought a HO T2, a bunch of CFLs and bought a small greenhouse. From the size of some of the plants I’ve seen on this site, I’m realizing now I need a bigger grow box, more lights and probably another greenhouse. I can’t get myself to cull any of the plants or even give them away as I’ve grown quite attached to these little fellers. I’ve also spent on average about two hours a day building, watering, potting etc. I feel I’m all of a sudden way over my head. Has this happened to any of you? Any ideas of what I should do with all of these plants and potential pods? I’ve never even tasted a super hot. I have no doubt I will be successful growing these to their full potential with all the info available here.

I promise you something VERY similar has happened to us all. Trust me, each and every year, you are most likely going to ask yourself "why did I plant THIS many plants?!" I plant that many because a few will inadvertantly die.
But hell, if you have the room, grow them puppies. If not, well, dont know what to tell ya! lol

i did the same thing last year planted like 50 ghost peppers with everyhtign i read i would get about 10 but after a few weeks i planted more they all sprouted then i had to build grow shelves lights it was crazy i wanted 10 and ended up with about 65 good luck on the new grows