• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Canadian Hot Pepper Growers

Welcome fellow Canucks, eh!

CANA0001.GIF

Thought I'd start a thread for all us up here in the Great White North who grow hot peppers. Obviously the colder climate makes growing hot peppers more of a challenge than in a southern climate, so special techniques and methods need to be used. Here's the place to talk about it!

I'm a beginner grower myself, and sadly I just had to make an unexpected move from Ottawa to Toronto and was forced to leave my little plants behind in the hands of family members. But I'm going to start again! Hopefully its not too late, and even if so, maybe I can rig up some sort of heated greenhouse-like structure by the end of the summer to keep my plants going.

I'm in Waterloo, so about an hour away. I'm not growing a whole lot, but I could probably throw a couple scotch bonnet plants and some cayenne your way if you really want to get something out there quick. I just started a bunch more seeds myself, hoping that its not too late. Their not huge, about a month old.

Hi I'm from Laval,Qc. Nice to meet you all! I'm a first time Bhut Jolokia Grower. They are about 2-3 inches now but i don't know in what king of soil/mix to transplant them. Any suggestions?

Hey salut :)!

pro mix ou miracle grow moisture control is very good!
if you plant them outside a good soil with addition of compost will do it !

I'm 45 mins from the border and the climate is real close to yours.

That's true, Toronto and Southern Ontario climate is quite warm. But believe me, even 500km north the temperature changed significantly. When I left Ottawa last week it was -12 degrees and there was snow all over the place. When I arrived in Toronto there was no snow, and two days later is was 14 degrees and sunny outside. Big difference.

Hey salut :)!

pro mix ou miracle grow moisture control is very good!