• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Seedling transplanting?

Hello people.

One of my douglahs barley came up today, and i have a question.

I've planted two seeds per jiffy pellet but i want to try to save and grow both plants. Can i seperate the one by digging the other seedling out, and stick him into a new fresh jiffy pellet?

Ideas?..
Thanks in advance,
Joseph Stalin

Hi Joseph!
I'm REALLY new to all of this too, so don't take my advice as gospel!
But i sowed 3 seeds in my Jiffy's, as i really expected nothing to happen due to the fact that my fingers haven't been green up until now...lol
When i started getting 2 or even 3 growing in the Jiffy's i managed to seperate them without any problems.

The way i did it was to get one of those mini screwdrivers (or anything pointy would work i guess?) and create a nice gap right around the seedling you want to move, and then use the same tool to make a nice sized hole in the new Jiffy and carefully pull it out and replace. Once in there, i then gently squeezed the peat around it's new tenant!

I had one that i thought was a goner, as i sort of heard a little "snap" as i pulled it out, and i thought i'd deffo broken the roots.....and it had a real mad 'droop' going on after i repotted it...but within a few hours it was standing upright again and growing away!

Like i say, i'm real new and almost feel embarrassed to advise you, but that's what happened when i did the same thing! I'm sure some of the more seasoned members will advise you if need be :)

You can seperate them easily.... gently squeeze the jiffy pellet(wetter is better here)around its circumference until the peat
is fairly well broken up, decide where you will seperate the two seedlings...cut the netting accordingly to accomodate the split .