• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Chlorine and Chilis

Hi everyone,

I live in Philly, a city that is noted for its high levels of chlorine. When inside, I give my peppers distilled or spring ater most of the time, however once they go outside I plan on using water straight from the hose. This is my first summer here, so I don't have any experience with other plants using this water, seeing how they fare, etc.

Anyone have any advice regarding this practice?

Thanks!

put the water in a 5 gallon bucket and leave it outside for 2 days before you water with it. Or you can put the water in the said bucket, buy an air pump and a 5 inch air stone, and run that air stone in the bucket for about 5 hours. That will kill the chlorine. You can also buy a filtration deal that screws onto your hose bib, and that will filter the chlorine out

Noob alert! I am not an expert!

Chlorine in the amounts you are talking about does not harm plants. People add chlorine to their hydro systems to keep it sterile.
It might kill beneficial microbes in the soil. I don't know about that. If you are using inorganic fertilizer i wouldn't worry. I compost and occasionally use fertilizer. I don't worry about chlorine. I do worry about salts and alkilinity

My guess, and that is all it is, is that you can't wipe out the good microbes once established.

unless you are feeding your plants 10+mg/l dont worry about it. here in texas TCEQ regulations allow a maximum of 2mg/l of free chlorine, i assume philly is similar. in all reality by the time it hits your faucet its likely closer to .2mg/l. be more worried about alkalinity and other minerals.