• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Leaf Curl Issue, thoughts, insight, HELP!

I have been growing a couple tobasco's in the basement under some LED's since January. The grow has been going great until a few days ago. All the plants look fine except the top few leaves of one plant. I ended up jsut cutting them off a few minutes ago. The curl up is what they looked like before I cut them. Any thoughts, or advice would be greatly appreciated. plants are in an earthbox in coir media. I don't think over or under saturation is feasible as it is a wicking/selfwater but then again, I am not an engineer or scientist.

photo.jpg

In MOST cases, that's a deficiency of calcium. I just added some dolomite lime to my plants tonight because of some curling.

And :welcome: from Ohio!

Before you add any lime to your soil make sure that it isn't going to throw your pH level way out of whack! Look into some CalMag or oyster shell that won't affect your pH balance. Good luck!!

over watering/ edema is also another cause of leaf curl. Check for small white bumps on the underside of your leaves. If you see this, then your plant/s have edema. If not then it's most likely lack of cal. Cal/mag is good to buy in this case

yeah it's kind of hard to see in the pics, on some of the bottom ones it almost looks like it could have some bumps on the bottoms, but if not then Cal-Mag it up! and actually the domolite lime or whatever, someone said on another thread that if you take that, and mix it with white vinegar, enough so it dissolves or close to it, that it will create the calcium asciatate (sp?) sorry, I can't remember exactly, or spell very well, but that was the idea, and I'm too lazy to look for the thread lol, but there should be plenty info if you google that combo, that way, I think, it won't throw off your pH