• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Fixing leggy chillies

Hello everyone. I have been reading the forums for a while but this is my first time to post.

I have bit of a problem with one of my small chili plants. (I don't know the correct name in English. In Japanese its called 'Korean Chilli' it sets hot 5" red fruit) When I got it, it had been kept in shade all day and grown super leggy. It was a foot tall single stem. Since receiving it (and moving it to full sun) it has branched out at the top and started setting fruit.

Which sounds all fine, however it has outgrown its mini greenhouse and now needs to be kept outside as we are coming into rainy / windy / typhoon season. I have it kinda staked the best I can, but that's not a real solution. Is there anything I can do to strengthen it or encourage more growth lower on the stem? (I'm growing on a 3rd floor balcony so burying it super deep is kinda not an option)

Photo of the plant.

kankokutogarashi.jpg

Also, a photo of the Habanero that has been growing next to it from a seedling, just because habaneros are awesome.

habanero.jpg

The only real option is to cut it down to about 5 nodes from the bottom. New branches will grow out of those nodes and the plant will be much more stable in the long term. You'll have to delay getting fruit but you'll have a much stronger plant.

I would suggest potting up to a much larger pot [10>15 gals], with the right drainage, irrigation, nutes and sun she’ll thicken up in good time. This has been my experience last season growing 100 supers in pots.

Thanks for the info everyone! Really helpful. I'm not too keen on cutting it down as the growing season here isn't the longest (Nagano, Japan) but I guess what has to be done just has to be done.

I will stake and fertilize it, see if it starts thickening up. If not I guess chop it. I wonder if I could get the upper section to root and grow after cutting?