• Start a personal food blog, or, start a community food thread for all.

Jerky Anyone?

Hopefully hasnt been done before, a Jerky thread, all types but especially making your own.

Had a crack at this the other day, turned out great, will be doing again this weekend i think, but a whole lot more. Got eaten in one night by everyone.

Started out with about 1.5kgs of Topside, cut into 5mm thick strips. Marinated in a mixture of soy and worcesterchire.

IMG_0137.jpg

IMG_0138.jpg

Then placed on wire trays and seasoned with a mixture of herbs,spices and habanero powder.

IMG_0139.jpg

All dried up, tasted awesome

What you think

IMG_0141.jpg

You didn't mention how you dried it out... looks like oven on low heat with the door cracked?

I've been making jerky for a few years now. I used to make it in the oven (couldn't justify buying a dehydrator when the oven did the exact same thing...), but I decided to try a new method after having seen it on Good Eats. The great part is, it involves no heat. All you need for the drying process is a box fan, some 25x25 HVAC filters, and bungee cords. Here's the video.

Now, the real discussion is: Who's got an awesomely spicy marinade recipe?

PS - if you're looking for awesome store-bought jerky, the best I can find is Uncle Mike's. I really like the Hot & Spicy flavor, and recently tried the Habanero, which I thought was pretty good, too.

Looks great!! I have never made jerky before, did they just air dry or did you use a dehydrator or something else

BaronScarpia is right, low heat oven, door cracked and for several hours. Next time i will be trying it in the wood fired oven.

Made a heap, 5 different flavours, on the weekend will post tonight.

I use a base marianade of plain old soy sauce and worcestechire, then pat dry on paper towel and cover with desired flavours of herbs and spices