• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

media who is using jiffy pellets???or heat pad??

I bought a heated germination table with 72 jiffy pellets and was wondering if you guys use them??
we have a comercial greenhouse so I am no newbie when it comes to planting seeds and have used these pellets in the past and they work good for seeds like peppers .
As soon as they seedlings show up they will be moved to the big greenhouse so no indoor lighting here ..
I am a firm believer in the heated pad or any way of heating soil to germinate seeds as we have a big 60 tray table in our big greenhouse .
As a test I have planted the same seeds but will not heat some to see how the heated pad does for speeding up germination...
I have a 99% germination rate .

I always use heat for germination but I have grown out of using jiffys for peppers since finding better methods.

I germinate my seeds in cups, heated of course.
In the cups there's only standard (clean) potting soil.
When the plants are big enough, I transplant them into pots with humus.
I don't handle big plants, so I never had to. but some say for big plants you want just the top layer to be humus, not the entire soil.

I've been using them all my life for all kinda plants and never had any problems. They are easy to store, too.

When growing chilis I do not use them for germination, though. I prefer to let my seeds germinate on paper towels to avoid wasting space and pellets.

I don't use a heat pad, but place the small "greenhouse" on the heater (with some space inbetween). This way I am not using up any extra energy for the heat pad, because at this time of the year the heater is on anyway. I am turning it down a bit at night - it is also getting colder at night on the outside, so this should give my babies good conditions for growing. So far they are looking fine! :lol: