• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Potluck Chili

Hey guys,
First post on here but I've been through a few threads before looking for suggestions on growing my peppers. I've tried a pretty large selection of peppers and I've been growing some of my favorites for a few months now (Bird's Eye Thai Peppers, Big Sun Scotch Bonnets, Bhut Jolokia Ghost Peppers) and they're getting close to being ripe. I'm having a potluck with a bunch of my friends and because half of them can't handle the kind of heat that comes from a ghost or scotch bonnet, I decided to make different hot sauces to add to the chili at the potluck instead of just throwing them into the chili while it's cooking.
Believe me, I'd love to make the chili with the peppers in it, but I don't want anyone to get hurt and a few people I know for a fact won't be able to handle food that's too hot from medical reasons. Any idea what kind of hot sauce recipe would be best to mix into chili or would anything really work? I want to make a separate sauce for each kind of pepper so people can mix and match haha And I have a good number of each pepper for people to try.
Thanks for the help!
-Wilson

Haha Thanks for the welcome, I'm going with vegetarian and meaty chili since I have some vegetarians coming too. The idea was to come up with a hot sauce people could mix into their chili bowl to get it to the spice they'd like! Since a few friends wanted to try the ghost pepper because of its reputation and some just want to have the scotch bonnets, I was wondering if there was a kind of sauce that'd go especially well with chili!