Seeds for Science - Middle School Class Project in Action!

Hey THP...I thought I would throw this out in THP-land for some support.

As some of you know...I am a science teacher. I teach 7th grade science in a rural district in north central Texas. I teach regular science classes as well as advanced science. My advanced science students are participating in a year long project, to compost, harvest seeds, dry, germinate, grow, and at the end of the year, sell the chile plants to the public to raise money for the science department. This is in an effort to teach students about self reliance, business practices, accountability, and agronomy. As most of you know, budget crunches have virtually eliminated funding to most schools, and departments within those schools. This project empowers students to take ownership in the development of a life, a product, their school, and ultimately, their education.

We are currently in collaboration with Texas A&M for some seed stock, as well as harvesting seeds from what we can find, including peppers we can be reasonably sure have "pure" seeds.

I have open pollenated seed stock...which is fine for me personally. However, we are in need of "pure" seeds, for any type of chile imaginable. We need to be able to offer the community a pepper plant that is almost assured to be what we say it is.

I'm reaching out to THP for assistance in our project. We have zero dollars to spend...not even postage. If anyone would like to be a part of our project, and donate "pure" seeds, we would be most appreciative. Any pepper variety is welcome...from heatless...to hell.