• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

scovilles Scoville rating vs Growing technique

So I have grown Bonda Ma Jaques and Seasoning Peppers for years now and do a lot of growing with hydroponics. This is my first time getting into growing super hots and it is a whole new ball game to me.

I have been doing lots of reading and people have always said that the more a chili plant is stressed, the hotter the pods become and because of this I have started growing some superhots in soil but I also have some in DWC's.
So if I understand this, they say less watering of the plant produces hotter pods. In a water rich environment which hydroponics provide, does this mean that the pods will be a lot less hot than if the same plant was grown in soil and stressed?
I know a lot of members grow in hydro and aero and many grow in soil. Does anyone have any experience with pod heat in different mediums and with different growing techniques?

I will also be willing to provide morugas grown in soil and some grown in dwc's later in the season for members to compare the difference in heat rating.

Great question. I've never grown in hydro so I can't provide an answer based on experience. I can pass on a different experience though.

Few years ago I grew peppers on both sides of my home, facing east and west. East facing got the morning sun and shade in the afternoon, opposite for the west peppers. The west peppers got the brutal afternoon sun and the temps that went with it. Plants on the east were 20 degrees cooler and shaded. West side dried out much more often and required more water. They were stressed much more compared to the east. At the end of the season the west plants performed better in production and overall growth. They also had fewer issues with aphids. The pods from the west were much hotter. I haven't grown on the east side since.