• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Carolina Reaper X Moruga = Brainstrain?

new_zpsd7b3cfa7.jpg

So I took the pollen from my Carolina Reaper and crossed it with my Moruga and this freak of Nature that looks like a Brainstrain on steroids grew.

Was this the pod that resulted from the pollinated flower? There shouldn't be any noticeable difference until the next generation. That is wicked looking, though.

Should be what develops from the seeds of the cross pollinated pod will be the actual cross. The flower and the pod will show all the genetics from the mother plant.

The seeds will be the f1 hybrid. Morugas and brain strains have always been very similar in form, like the reaper and 7 pot primo.

you cannot have something just from pollen.. you have to take the seeds and plant it and grow the new plants to see the effect...

ok I wasnt sure how the cross breeding process worked fully as it is my first time trying to cross. But the mother plant was my Carolina Reaper. I will plant the seeds from the pods and grow them out and see how they turn out.

If the mother plant, the one that has the pepper on it, is a Reaper then that is a Reaper pepper. Congrats.

Sure looks like a TS Morouga or a TS Morouga Blend or a 7 Pot Brain Strain.

ok I wasnt sure how the cross breeding process worked fully as it is my first time trying to cross. But the mother plant was my Carolina Reaper. I will plant the seeds from the pods and grow them out and see how they turn out.

I'm confused now. Help me out here ronpaul or anyone.....

Originally you said you took pollen from your Reaper and crossed it with a Moruga.

Wouldn't that make your mother plant to be the Moruga ???

But now you say the mother plant is the Reaper..making that a Reaper plant.

So the pod and plant in your pic..is it of a Reaper plant or a Moruga plant ?

Either way, it still is a very nice looking pod.

Good Luck with your grow.