• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Questions from a beginner

Hey guys - I've been reading these forums for a long time and I finally got around to ordering seeds and planting them, so I made an account cause I was bound to have questions. And I do.

So, I ordered Bhut Jolokia's from NMSU. 20, I think. I really wanted to plant other peppers, but I read they cross pollinate too easily. I didn't want to end up with hot jalapeno's and mild bhut's... Upon finding a couple threads on this forum, it sounds like that wouldn't have happened, only the seeds of those plants would have had a chance to be hybrids... *shrug* Maybe next year I'll do more.

Since this is my first time growing ANYTHING, I have no idea what I'm doing. NMSU suggested the soil PH be 6.5. I tested mine and it's 7. I tried to find out how to adjust it, but everything I found was for farmers, not little tiny seedling pots. So they stayed at 7. I've been watering them every day, because the soil at the top just gets bone dry, even though I read some people water them every 3 days (or even less!). I don't know if this is the right thing to do, but the soil just seems totally dried out by the end of the day.

Anyway, here's my set up. I know it's not ideal, but it's what I got. I have a seedling warming mat (the paperwork with the Bhut's said the soil should be at 80-90 degrees!!). Right now there is very little light hitting the soil, but no plants have sprouted yet (its been less than 1 week and paperwork says up to 6, so I'm not fretting yet). I'm assuming they won't need light until they sprout. If that's not accurate, I'll have to figure something out.

Here's the problem: once they do sprout, my growing light (just a cheap flourescent jobby from Home Depot) is in the basement. There is no heat in my basement. I'd say its typically around 50-55 this time of year, and isn't likely to heat up much in the next 5-6 weeks.