• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

PHB's Grow Log 2013: Paris

Hi all !

So I decided to start a growlog to improve myself as a total beginner in growing chilies and to get your advices.

I'll post updates and pics every week if I can.

THE PLAN

I've 2 houses in France :
- a little flat in Paris : because the weather is very bad in Paris (< than 1600 hours of sunlight/year, cold, rainy & pollution) I can only grow peppers indoor. But my flat is rather small (40m&sup2;) so I grow things into my cupboard.
- a farm in La Rochelle : I grew up in this farm which is not a big one because it's only 5 acres. It's located here, around 200 yards from the sea. The weather is usualy nice (same sunlight as the south of France, we have some kind of a microclimate). I've plenty of space to plant my peppers but the soil is very poor (sandy or clay). It can also be windy and as you know, wind carry salt from the sea which kills a lot of plants.

So my plan is :
1) - to start growing all the plants in Paris
2) - keep 3 plants (one of each) growing indoor in Paris
- move the other to La Rochelle in a greenhouse
3) - plant the peppers from the greenhouse to the soil in La Rochelle

Then I'll compare the results of indoor/outdoor

THE PEPPERS

I planted the seeds the 18 march 2013 :
- 10 Bhut Jolokia
- 10 Trinidad Scorpion Butch T
- 10 7 Pot Brain Strain

THE ENVIRONMENT

Cupboard : 0.5m&sup2; (5.3 sq&sup2;)

Light : Envirolite 250W CFL ECO bulb (6500K&deg;, 100% PAR & 18 000 lumen) with reflector

Soil : Biobizz All Mix (NPK 3-3-5, EC = 2,4 & PH = 6,6)

Fertilizers : BioBizz :
- Root Juice (NPK 0.1 - 0.1 - 0.1) : root stimulator (first weeks)
- Bio-Grow (NPK 8.0 - 2.0 - 6.0) : during growing stage
- Bio-Bloom (NPK 2.0 - 6.0 - 3.5) : make bigger flowers/fruits
- Top Max (NPK 0.1 - 0.01 - 0.1) : bloom stimulator