• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

educate a newbie on growing the hottest :)

Hi there, first time poster here! (Nice to find a place to talk about one thing I love--heat) This is my first year growing hot peppers, I have the following,
Cayenne
Apache chili
Red habanero
Scotch bonnet
Devils tongue
Fatalii
Red bhut jolokia
Yellow bhut jolokia
Trinidad scorpion moruga
Trinidad scorpion butch T (x2)
And carolina reapers
Here's my question ( s)

All are about 1 foot in height and are beginning to produce flowers, my scotch bonnets have about 5 peppers currently starting. The rest seem to be blooming. I am feeding a 20:30:20 fertilizer as recommended by the guy at the green house. How can I get larger plants with more fruit yield versus small plants with little fruit yield?

I have read mixed opinions on pinching the first set of flowers to allow more growth and higher future yield, is this true? How do I do this?

My scotch bonnets have good foliage for a small plant with lots of buds but I would like to see them taller and sturdier. How can I do this in Alberta's(Canada) short growing season. I plan to bring them into our south facing window before frost to continue indoor growth if possible

Any help is greatly appreciated as the more I yield the more I can keep my self warm this winter ;)

Here's my plants currently

And here's one of the scotch bonnets starting. This plant is 3rd from the left in the above image

Plants look good, keep it up. With your short growing season I might leave them alone. Not knowing much about growing in
Canada I'm sure someone from your area will chime in.

NattyPepper said:
Plants look good, keep it up. With your short growing season I might leave them alone. Not knowing much about growing inCanada I'm sure someone from your area will chime in.