• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

sun "Sun Gro Horticulture" Grow Mix

Since I just started learning about peppers and taking a real interest in growing plants as of this past Spring/Summer I've certainly stumbled over a lot of hurdles in that time.

Well in the past couple weeks, since I finally got an HPS light set up, I started to realize that it wouldn't be long before I would need to be transplanting most of my plants and that I simply didn't have the soil to accomplish it. Going from store to store in my area I almost started to build towards a panic in the past week as I quickly discovered that all the places I'd gone to get soil before (Central Supplies, SuperStore, even Walmart) simply don't sell soil once the Fall comes around (which explains why they all dropped their prices majorly back in October).

Given our climate, it really isn't surprising - but it still wasn't something I had even thought to consider, so I didn't stock up. And to top it all off - I ran out of my last bag of 4-in-1 soil & black earth this past week when I transplanted a young Super Chile (which I started just over a month ago for my girlfriend) and one of my larger Naga Jolokia's.

Here's the sort of soil I've been using (had to take a photo since they don't list it on their website grr):

soil-and-basket.jpg

.. But before letting myself truly panic and resort to begging for solution ideas on here, I decided to try one last place - a local garden & greenhouse operation. Their website doesn't really list that they sell soil, but they do stay open year-round, so it was worth a shot.

So yesterday afternoon I gave them a call. And as it turns out they don't sell the type of mixtures I've been using -and-  they don't sell the size I'm used to getting, either. Instead, what they sell is whole bales of compressed soil mixtures that are big enough that I was only able to fit -3- in a small Toyota Echo. lol