• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Chipotle Sauce

Hi -

I've been making this for several years - it's the only sauce I've made that I really like.  It's very versatile and can be used as a dip for chips or added to whatever you want to add chipotle flavor to.  I like to make it in small batches - this one was about 2 pints and I canned it so my son could take it back to FSU.  He really can go through it.

Of course you start with smoked red ripe jalapenos.  I grow a few but really rely on the Mexicans at the flea market as my source - they always have nice red jalapenos.  I smoke them over pecan for about 5 hours and finish them off in a dehydrator before freezing them.  I know they're not chipotles in the traditional sense, but what the hay.  They freeze very well and I always have some on stock.

I put the ingredients together in a small sauce pan and simmer for a couple of hours until the jalapenos are soft.  Then I take them out and remove the stems.  Then I food process the chipotles and add back to the sauce pan.  It's usually at this point I add the catsup - about 2 tablespoons.  I'll simmer the mixture about an hour being careful to add water or vinegar as needed for consistency.

One ingredient not shown is the sea salt.  I probably added about 2 teaspoons to this batch.

I know some may not like seeds but they work for - I actually like them in this sauce.

Then I add to the sterilized jars and listen for the lids to pop.

I hope you try it - very tasty and simple to do.

Bob

001-3.jpg

002-1.jpg

003-2.jpg

008.jpg

015.jpg

I use about 2 tablespoons for the minced garlic, brown sugar, and catsup. Also, about 2 teaspoons of sea salt. I estimate 1 cup of the apple cider vinegar and the same for the initial water at the beginning. I do add water as needed for consistency. I use about a quarter of an onion chopped. When Vidalia sweet onions are in season, I prefer those.