• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering Overwintering Scotch Bonnets in Containers

Welcome,

This is my first post. Thanks to everyone that has contributed to this forum. It has been a wealth of knowledge and this will be my first post and request. 

This is my first time growing scotch bonnet peppers. I purchased pepper seeds from botanical interests last year and started 4 pepper plants in containers late in the spring. After finally placing the plants outside in mid-summer, and growing the plants outdoors through early October I now have the plants indoors under a combination of the following:

2x 60 Watt 5500K CFLs
2x 32 Watt (I think these are 5500K) 4 foot T-8 fluorescent tubes

The soil mixture that I am using is potting soil with a mix of perlite and orchid bark. 

So far the soil drains well, and as recommended I used matches in the base of the soil to add sulfur. I use epsom salt to help supplement minerals and a basic balanced organic fertilizer. 

I was looking through some videos on youtube this fall, and I pruned the plants back after bringing them in. Each plant has between 3-5 broad leaves remaining. 

Before I brought the plant in, it never had fruit, only flower blossoms. Shortly after bringing the plants in the blossoms dropped. Also, after pruning I have not had new leaves develop on the pepper plants. Recently I bought a pH test to see if there was an issue with pH. The pH reading was somewhere between 6-6.5.

I plan on moving the peppers outside once the weather improves in April. 

I have a few questions:

Is there anything that I am missing, or is this a typical overwintering experience?
Should I invest in doing any soil amendments such as worm castings or a different fertilizer?
With a pH reading of 6 - 6.5, should I use some lime on the plants?
Do the leaves appear healthy?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Happy new year.

N4DBr5ql.jpg