• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting Dried Japones mash?

I am new to this whole fermentation thing, but so far have managed to make some decent kimchi, sauerkraut, and a couple of batches of hot sauce using dried Piquin Chili (fresh chilies are a little tough to find this time of year here).

I spotted dried Japones chilies the last time I was in the grocery store and was wondering how they would work for a hot sauce. Anyone have any experience with them?

I'm also wondering how you get your sauces to thicken up? I don't want to boil them down and kill off all those good bugs. Is there a good way to get them thick right from the fermenter?

Thanks much in advance,

Dave

First, welcome.

Second, chile Japonés are hot but nothing you can't handle since you've already used pequin.  I'd suggest they will behave comparably to the pequins.

( "Yatsufusa" may be the variety.  Save seeds: there's a very good chance they will be viable.)

Third, I agree with you on not destroying the beneficials we've worked to create.  I don't boil my vegetable mashes just like I don't boil yogurt after it has fermented.  This does seem to be a minority (or at least more quietly held view) here.

Fourth, on thickening, I'm not sure.  Yesterday, I did take November's jalapeño/sweet chile mash and added steeped guajillo, the stock, tomatillo, and honey for flavour.  Straining didn't go well, so I left everything in, and that did have a thickening effect.  Just ate half a cup with a hefeweizen, but I'm leaving the jar out for a secondary fermentation to knock back the sweetness a touch.

Fifth, next time I'll abandon the enumeration. :cheers:

IMHO, just add less water in the ferment.

Rehydrate the japones, grind them up in the food processor with other ingredients and salt. Ferment then run it through a food mill. Done. As long as the mash is thick enough, the sauce shouldn't be too thin.