• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

LED grow light, how many lumens?

Hi, i'm new to growing plants, but i love chili so i think i will give it a try. I use 2x180watt LED light. Its 60 Bridgelux High power 3W LED on each lamp. Its full 10band made for growing plants. I see that one 3watt bridgelux give 180-220 lumen, but since its grow light (red, blue and some ir) is that different lumen? I now have the light maybe 50-60cm over the plants, i moved them closer that on the picture, but is that to close? Could the plants get sunburn? Could this realy give 24.000 lumen?
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/87802055/2014-04-14%2021.53.31.jpg

leds usually don't run them at full voltage so they don't do the max lumens. Why? because running at lower voltage (like half) produces less heat / waste, thus making the light more efficient and longer living.

IR have 0 lumens because lumens are the measure of visible light(and we can't see ir... atleast i can't lol). Also you can't really measure red / blue leds with lumens because they produce only a part of the visible spectrum. 

Anyways, you can move them to like 15-25cm for a day and see if they get burnt(they won't).

Lumens only indicate how "bright" a light source is to the human eye.
This is not relevant to plants.

OKGrowin said:
leds usually don't run them at full voltage so they don't do the max lumens. Why? because running at lower voltage (like half) produces less heat / waste, thus making the light more efficient and longer living.

IR have 0 lumens because lumens are the measure of visible light(and we can't see ir... atleast i can't lol). Also you can't really measure red / blue leds with lumens because they produce only a part of the visible spectrum. 

Anyways, you can move them to like 15-25cm for a day and see if they get burnt(they won't).