• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

Canning peppers WITHOUT a waterbath

Vinegar brines only, where PH is 4.0 or lower.....

Would like to get some opinions on this. I have been canning for about 11 years, most everything I've learned about canning has come from my Grandma, but all literature I have read tells me that her methods are incorrect.  The results however speak for themselves, so i continue to follow her guidlines and it has never steered me wrong. She tells me that this is how she has always done it and her mom taught her and she never had any problems.

In short, she says that so long as the jar seals it is safe.--(for vinegar brines only) 

In my early years I followed the waterbath method as suggested by the canning companies. I only had successfull results when it came to "hard" vegtables...whole cucumbers, whole okra, beets, carrots, etc. When I followed these guidlines for pickle spears, peppers, zuccinni they would always, I mean always come out as mush. No amount of alum, calcium chloride you add will help when you add boiling water to a jar of peppers and then waterbath it for times listed on high altitude. In my findings peppers cannot withstand that amount of heat for that long and still be crunchy.  All my attempts were failures. But when I just fill the jar with boiling brine and twisted on the lid and cap, and omited the water bath it always came out crisp and tasty, never have problems with the jar sealing.