• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Hardening off in poor weather..

So it's quite cloudy here and will be for a few days, then on and off. I started hardening off yesterday with about 2 hours under the clouds. As I've never done this before, is that about right? Can I leave them out a lot longer due to the crappy weather conditions? When it does brighten up should I reduce the time outside by a lot?

Thanks for the help in advance.

Well, I would usually harden mine off for approx a week.  Due to the crappy weather I just went ahead and planted all my chili plants.  I am sure others may have a different opinion but seems to me the mild weather will acclimate them just fine in my view. 

In just a couple days I have had some growth already, If I get good roots established before the heat hits they will all be fine. 

were supposed to have junk weather cloudy also for like 5 days. So I put everything that was tall outside...
They wilted a little but then it got chilly out for a while and the firmed up.

no full sun in my forecast for like 4 days.. probably the same weather in toronto-ish area lol

the clouds seem like they would do the "hardening" for you since they filter the sunlight whilst establishing a baseline of their new environment. 

I pretty much agree with what has been said so far.  The only thing that I would worry about would be UV exposure, just putting them out.  Depends on what they have seen so far.

Cool, ok I'll just leave 'em out under the porch then during the day and bring them in for a few hours of supplimental light at night until my mix finishes it's liming process. Thanks for the input!