• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

powder-flake How hot is powder vs fresh pepper pods?

I got my order of powder samplers in the mail today courtesy of Jeff/Spicy Chicken. Many thanks!

As I've said before, I've never tried a super hot before so I ordered a pretty decent variety of super hots and some other ones that looked interesting I'd never had before.

I'll spare you most the details but I tried a bit of paper lantern hab sprinkled on a spoon, followed by 7 Pot primo a few minutes later when my palate was cleared. Nice flavor and heat from just a few sprinkles.

Once I was all reset, I went for the big daddy and a sprinkle of Carolina Reaper powder. Man it had great flavor and brought some heat to the party. Good stuff, but I had so little I was wondering if I hadn't given it a good enough go. I then decided to try a teaspoon of the powder. Once again, great flavor. While I tried to get some of the powder that stuck to the roof of my mouth cleared off, the heat kicked in. Took a couple of minutes to hit what I would consider the peak, but when it did it basically felt like I chewed up some shattered glass and swished with rubbing alcohol.

I likey

So now that I'm feeling lightheaded 20-30 minutes after initial ingestion and the heat has subsided, I wondered how the heat from powder compares to heat from fresh pods? What would 1 teaspoon equate to?

Sorry if there are a bunch of other threads like this. I searched and couldn't find any that answered my question.

1 tsp of powder? Hmm, prolly equivalent to 1/2 pod would be my best guess. Maybe more.

Good way to go for a person new to Superhots, get a nice variety and see what you like. Then you can identify how to cook with each flavor. Good job my man.