• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

liquid fert application ish questions

Multi part total noob questions here and I did search/read through posts before asking.  Using Fox farm grow big and the directions state, for normal use 2-3 teaspoons per gallon every other watering or 4 teaspoons for heavy.  I have 12 plants and basically divide the gallon between those 12, is this the correct way or should I be using more fertilizer/water per plant?  Application method thus far has been, water plants until soil is damp then dose fert/water mix.

I also read that people stop dosing ferts when plants start to flower?  I'm assuming my plants are a little small this far into the season due to the thrip issues I had early on.  I potted up several times and they were never root bound, from 2in-4in-6in-1gal then 15gal from mid April to mid June.  I'd prefer they grow larger but I haven't been pinching off flowers, should I be concerned about dosing ferts since they are blooming or just try to get them to grow?  I just started dosing after they had been in the 15s for two weeks followed by a foliar compost tea application the next week.  Pics below to address size and flowering questions and the reason my plants are off the ground.

I keep asking myself if I should have just bought peppers vs. plants but I know it will be worth it.  Hopefully I can overwinter these in my sun room and get a better start next year.

Thanks again for your time,

20140709_1031261_zps9277d8b8.jpg
20140709_1032241_zps0a825ae8.jpg
20140709_1032401_zps88955900.jpg
20140709_1033121_zps15dbdfcb.jpg
20140709_1033591_zps120d0bb3.jpg
20140709_1034211_zps982bef72.jpg
20140709_1034591_zpsc848d454.jpg