• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

tutorial A Guide for Cloning Pepper Plants

So I was browsing through 'Cappy's pruning and cloning 2014' thread and noticed he was having a few frustrations  with his clones. I made a couple of comments and a couple of people suggested I should do a 'cloning guide' so here 'tis.

I work in the horticulture industry here in Australia and have done 1000's of clones (unfortunately not peppers...ha) but the same basic principles apply. FWIW I've done about 50ish pepper clones over the last couple of years and am running at about 80% success rate.

So what do you need to do cloning?

• a really sharp knife or box cutters or sharp secateurs. I personally use secateurs 'cause being a bit of a klutz there is much less chance of me injuring myself. :P
  • rooting compound - gel or powder. Our preference at work is cloning gel because it doesn't rub off when you push the clone into the media like powder can do. If you're unable to get either gel or powder you can even use honey. There are certain enzymes in honey that aid in root development. Note: honey won't be as successful as proper rooting compound but if that's all you have access to then it's better than nothing. The 2 most common active ingredients used in rooting compounds are indole butyric acid (IBA) and naphthalene acetic acid (NAA). Some rooting compounds have both IBA and NAA in them, these are the 'Rolls Royce' of rooting compounds, if you can get them.
  • heat mat
  • mini greenhouse
  • media eg: rockwool, jiffy pellets, perlite + coco coir mix etc.
  • lighting: either artificial or filtered sunlight.
  • sterilizing solution - I use a diluted bleach solution to clean the secateurs with before I start and also re-sterilize them when moving from plant to plant. I can't stress how important this is because you don't want to be transferring any potentially nasty pathogens from plant to plant.