• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Bagged compost for Compost Tea/AACT

Has anyone used bagged compost for compost tea? I know lot people here compost there own stuff. I had to chuck my compost pile do to cats thinking it was cat box.

So have you guys had success doing this way?

So my choices are this 2.

I know Kellogg uses human waste in some of there other stuff. But on bag it says aged forest compost and barnyard manure.

http://www.kellogggarden.com/products?brand=gardeners&category=all#4

As this guys say no poop just food scraps.
http://ecoscraps.com/soil/

So this is my first time doing AACT bought used air pump. Bought couple air stones.

I`m going to do.
  • Compost?
  • worm casting
  • Fish emulsion
  • Lawn clipping
  • Liquid kelp
  • Have some more bloom don`t know if I`ll use it.
Any input would be greatly appreciated i`m trying this first to treat a black spot on my plants.

Trippa said:
With the vermicast you shouldn't need additional compost. I am no expert though ...
That`s what I kinda thought. But everyone talks about cretin beneficial microbes in compost. Not ones found in worm castings. thanks

I use compost kelloggs organic company Gardner and Bloome.. no biosolids in it. Makes a great tea with grass clippings

Ive used scraps In my soil mix, I didn't try a tea with it.

if you can find a good quality bagged compost then use it and it does have different benmies then EWC does so using both would be great...is it absolutely necessary to use both, no .. As one already mentioned EWC is all you need and is mainly what I use and that's probably due to the fact I have a endless supply of it from my worm farm.. also like slizarus said toss in some fresh grass clippings....I always have that laying around as I cut almost everyday....

Slizarus said:
I use compost kelloggs organic company Gardner and Bloome.. no biosolids in it. Makes a great tea with grass clippings