• Please post pictures and as much information as possible.

Caribbeans?

I bought these as Caribbean Hot Peppers at a plant sale. The woman told me they weren't too hot - which I suppose is relative :lol: Anyway, I googled Caribbean Hot Peppers and apparently they're also called Scotch Bonnets and some are habs. Needless to say, I was a bit confused (I don't know much about peppers - still learning!). Anyway, my question is: Are these Caribbean Hots/Scotch Bonnets/habs? Are they all the same thing? Feels like a silly question...

Also, how painful can I expect them to be? I'm determined to at least taste every pepper in the garden, so I have to taste it, but I want to be prepared. I'm finally raising my heat threshold - started the summer only being able to tolerate the lower half of a jalapeño, and now I can use most of a dragon cayenne without too much discomfort (or maybe it's a lot of discomfort and I'm just learning to enjoy it?). Baby steps, but it's a step in the right direction!

10511070_10202390768275944_4765746079353639103_n.jpg

To me they look like Caribbean Reds.  Scotch Bonnets are different from those along with being different from habs.  To answer your question easily,  all three are different.  The heat level on those are about that of a regular orange hab.

All the sites I found seemed to say something along the lines of "Caribbean reds can also be scotch bonnets, which can also be habs" which I found extremely confusing. They can be, but they aren't always? Hm.

Thanks for the answers! Now I'm especially afraid to try them. Maybe I'll do it before they ripen...Will that make it less awful for me? :lol: I'll try to focus on the flavor too. I honestly hadn't thought much about different peppers having different flavors until I joined here. Now I'm paying attention when I eat them :D