• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

First year growing - glog

Hi. My name is Jacob, and I'm a student living in Denmark. This year I decided I'd finally act on my interest of homegrown plants.

I will walk you through some of my experiences of my first year of growing chilies, and then continue updating as it progresses. I do this partly because you might find it interesting, partly because I wish to remember and learn what I can from my mistakes. I have been browsing your forum a lot, and already learned a great many things!
I will focus on HOW I grew these plants, and how they reacted to various changes.

25/2-2014
The beginning. The first seeds sprouted after just a few days. I had put them in some sphagnum (40 liters for 2 €). Kept the dirt moist, and at ~25 Celsius.

Grow list: (supplied by very cheap vendor)
·        Serrano Tampiqueno
·        Maules Red
·        Blondie
·        Hot Banana
·        Bonsai
·        Seeds harvested from a supermarket red chili

2014-02-25184049_zps025711e9.jpg

01/03-2014
Watered chilies with a spray bottle at this point. Note to self: expect that more than 1/10 seeds sprout, or you will have FAR too many… Lifted them from floor to increase temperature. Window facing west.

2014-03-01120136_zps28429e43.jpg

13/03-2014
Growth appears slow to me. Temperature about 18 Celsius. West facing window only gains little direct sunlight in this environment similar to UK. Noticing a sprout of the sort “Blondie” appearing to be blackened, dubbing this one “Sorteper”. Take note of this fella, he will return!

2014-03-13175928_zpsd82b8b17.jpg

15/03-2014
Transplanting seedlings to cups, as the thin layer of soil in previous containers dried out quickly. Couldn’t get myself to kill any. Window is facing west.

2014-03-15171532_zps7c2df629.jpg

01/04-2014
Saw this odd one. It did fine once it poked through, though it had fallen behind.

2014-04-01174935_zps366b55e1.jpg