Controlling temperature

Finally got my smoker a few weeks ago ( thanks BBQ Phil ), and due to weather and/or schedule, was not able to try it till yesterday. I did up a batch of pork ribs. Flavour was great, and I was happy with the results, but I know they could have turned out better. They cooked quicker than I expected. What I found was that after about 1.5 hours in, at 225 - 250 for most of it, when I added wood chips, the temp shot up to 300. If this happens, what do you do? The obvious answer of popping the lid doesn't make sense to me, as you lose the smoke.

If this is a retarded question...be gentle...I am a rookie...:doh:

A few questions. Do you have a water pan? and are you using dry or wet woodchips? Is it a charcoal or gas unit?

Nice looking smoker. Did you have to order from the U.S.?
My only suggestion is to soak your woodchips/chunks before using.

POTAWIE said:
Nice looking smoker. Did you have to order from the U.S.?
My only suggestion is to soak your woodchips/chunks before using.

Actually I got it from Lowes. They are the Cdn distributor. I read not to soak the wood chips, as it causes them to ash, and the ash just winds up on the food. I thought maybe I had either too much charcoal, or was adding too much wood at one time.