• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

super hot sauce making question

Im really new to pepper world this is my first year so I hadn't any super hot and its kinda hard to grow them in quebec so I got a mixed box from pex peppers with some choc and yellow 7-pot

20140914_201647_zps9af40386.jpg

I tried something with diverse ingredient 

2 chocolate 7-pot
7 yellow 7-pot
4 cayenne
1/2 onion 
3 garlic cloves 
2 cup water
3/4 cup orange juice
1 lime juice
tbsp honey
1 medium sized carrot
1/2 cup white vinegar
salt and pepper 

I think my proportion are not really good  ( too much hot peppers )so I sake the knowledge of this forum to get proportion right for next year

Cant really taste it since it kick my ass in 3 seconds but I really like the color

Thank you guys!

Like the wise THP souls suggested to me when I did the same thing and I doubled my indgredients exept the super hots along with adding a couple pounds of sweet peppers and that got me a tasty sauce.

You can take the sauce you have, add about 4x more Non-Hot ingredients, re-cook it and that will reduce the heat by about 1/2. 

If you'd like a sauce that is in the 3-out of-10 range, I'd suggest adding about 8 to 10 times more non-hot ingredients to dilute the heat.  When working with superhots and even with habs, a little goes a long way.  Re-batch/re-cook.  You can use the same bottles if they are wash/rinse/sanitized between batches. 

Good Luck!

Oh- and when tasting your original batch and thinking of how to tone it down, think about the flavor and what other vegetable or fruits would compliment the chile flavors.

Have FUN!!!

charlesquik said:
Im really new to pepper world this is my first year so I hadn't any super hot and its kinda hard to grow them in quebec so I got a mixed box from pex peppers with some choc and yellow 7-pot

20140914_201647_zps9af40386.jpg

I tried something with diverse ingredient 

2 chocolate 7-pot