• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Stunted growth and yellowing plant in hydro

Hi, im very new to hydroponics, my only experience is a very successful planted aquarium.
I set up a diy ebb/flow system and have 2 habs and a bonda ma jaques in it.

Basically the weather has picked up and theres plenty of sun and my hab growth is very dense and fruits are forming but there is no height to them.

Also the bonda ma jaques turns yellow each time I change the nutrients, and slowly greens up over the next month. It is not growing at all. I have been using half dose of the nutrients. Even tried a bit of thrive in there.

Any ideas?

Do you replace the oxygen in the water? Like using a bubble stone?

What is the ph of your water?

Hi mate, no air stone. Its just the pump running for 15 mins 3 tmes per day. No idea on the ph, just rainwater.
The bit that puzzles me the most is they are the same species of chilli, and green up nice and the other is yellow untill the nutrients get used up.
Might have to buy a test kit. What ph do I want?

It sounds like you are just on the borderline of using too little nitrogen in your feed.
Don't worry though as this is a good thing, many growers use this as a zero mark, a place to work from.

The fact that some plants leaves turn yellow as the other whole plant turns yellow tells us a story about different plants. Ideally each plant variety needs to be dialed in.

To begin with the ph should be around 6.5 There are really cheap ph meters you can get for like three dollars from ebay, they work and are digital, accurate to .1

Nitrogen is a little more difficult, I must ask if and or what kind of nutrients you are adding to your rain water. There are salt (nutrient) meters available as well. Plants need food, more than normal h2o can provide.