• Please post pictures and as much information as possible.

What are these!? Help a biker out!

I started these plants from seed around mid-May. I live in a northern climate (Winnipeg MB Canada) and it took almost a month before anything started to grow. I've brought the plants in today as the nights are approaching freezing. Here's where it gets interesting... I had two sets of seeds -- one batch from a habanero from a friend's garden and a second batch from a jalapeno I bought in store. I ate both peppers myself and dried the seeds so I'm positive about the origins of the seeds. I am not, however, sure which batch of seeds I threw into the planter. This is what grew:

http://s30.postimg.org/cgvne59z5/peppers.jpg

These peppers are definitely not what I was expecting as they are clearly neither of the variety I had seeds for. They look like some form of chili to me but I'm a complete newbie. In fact this is the very first plant i've grown from seed.

My questions:
1) What are they?
2) How far along are the plants?
3) What do they look like when they've matured? (I can probably answer this one myself once I know the answer to #1)

I'm terribly confused at this point so any help/suggestions appreciated!

Cheers,

-Daryl

I was going to guess that you actually bought a Fresno instead of a jalapeño - and that's what you're growing.

edit: But now that I look again, they seem too small for that. I'd just go with whatever PepperLover says.

Yea. It's weird because the plants are only 8-9". Could be the result of the temperature and proximity the seeds were planted. I did eat one to test it out. The extremities of pepper itself are fairly mild but closer to the seeds it gets hot. The peppers are definitely immature.  

[edit] And thanks for all the warm welcomes! :)[/edit]

Yeah there's nothing hab-ish about those and you can never trust what most stores label their peppers as so go with PepperLover's assessment. The bright side is you got homegrown peppers :party: