• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

tim's habanero sriracha style hot sauce

I make  about 72 jars of this every fall for family and a few friends  [ my partner and I consume 1 jar a week ] , it's not overpoweing hot , but adding more habs will up the ante.  I have been making this for 4 years and have almost finished tweaking it . This year I used ''purple haze'' carrots and it was even redder than usual.

Tim's   Habanero Hot Sauce
7 lg. red bell peppers [ cleaned, rough chop]
2 big carrots ..ditto
2 lg. , onions.. ditto
4 small apples ..ditto
5 habanero peppers ..stems removed 
1 head garlic , whole cloves browned in pan 
put above in saucepan ,
 add
1 1/4 cup cider vinegar
1 1/4 cup water 
partially cover , bring to a boil and then simmer till carrots soft
use a hand blender in the pan until well blended 
add
1/2 -3/4 cup sugar 
3 1/2 -4 teaspoons of salt 
simmer for one hour 
if too thick add more 50/50 vinegar water mix

makes 10  250ml, jars 
I hot waterbath can for 20 mins 

Sounds good man, but sriracha style is a fermented pepper sauce with sugar and garlic, not being fermented, and having carrots and that other stuff I'd not call it sriracha. But sounds tasty.

The Hot Pepper said:
Sounds good man, but sriracha style is a fermented pepper sauce with sugar and garlic, not being fermented, and having carrots and that other stuff I'd not call it sriracha. But sounds tasty.