• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Newbie Questions About Variety Integrity

I've been gardening off & on for 20 years & this was my most ambitious year, with about 1000 square feet. Grew a little bit of everything with only a few run of the mill varieties of peppers (though I have gotten about 500 jalapenos this year). I have been familiar with & dabbled a little with very hot sauces since the mid-90s hot sauce boom. 2015 will be the first year I've grown anything very hot. Most of the varieties of vegetables I grow are heirloom varieties.

Long intro & I think the varieties I plan on planting are all old varieties rather than developed varieties. Given what I think I know about hybrids, cross pollination & seed saving, how would one take a variety developed recently- Carolina Reaper, let's say, take seeds from them & expect a Carolina Reaper to grow. Isn't the Reaper a hybrid & wouldn't it not produce seeds not true to variety?

Question #2- How likely are varieties to cross pollinate in the garden? Everything I've read says you have to isolate varieties by a long distance but surely home gardeners can't do that. What are the real chances of this happening & what is the practical safe distance? If you're growing multiple types of peppers in the same garden & don't have a ton of room to separate, is there any reason to separate by 20' if thats all you have let's say or would that be just as likely to cross pollinate as putting them side by side?

I know these are all big time new questions & I run the risk of ridicule but oh well.

Thanks!

1 the hybrids are stabilized by growing them out and selecting the "true" phenotype fruit. People usually start releasing around fifth gen f5. Usually 8th generation f8 is completely "stable".
A new hybrid f1 or f2 are super unstable.