• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

My first grow! Padrons, Ghosts, Scorpions! (Pictures)

Hi from Melbourne, Australia!

Long time lurker here, finally got around to purchasing some seed. 

This is my first time raising anything from seed, and although the plants are still young I'm quite happy with the results.

I picked up some Padron Pepper seed from a street vendor in Barcelona earlier this year.
These make excellent tapas - flash fried in hot oil and sprinkled with rock salt.
The fruit is picked young and has an interesting characteristic; 10-20% of the fruit will be hot to taste, with the remaining yield being mild at best.

Padron Peppers:
gOmc04P.jpg

5BfmSdo.jpg

V0BIBPy.jpg

I recently purchased some hotter varieties from an online vendor.

Trinidad Scorpion Butch T:
4LqvIIA.jpg

Bhut Jolokia Ultra Whites:
w98YfcJ.jpg

H5MVJMA.jpg

Time to top off those Padron Peppers? What are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading, watch this space for updates!

Carlo

Plants look good to me. I wouldn't top them, i'd prune the bottom leaves.
Someone who actually knows something will come along and answer thou... dont you worry  ;)

Looking good for your first grow.
There is a sticky thread about topping/pruining, if you havent read it, do it's a good help :)

Can't get past how nice your plants look. Mine aren't so nice. What's your average temps there? And what's your set up?

bucdout57 said:
Can't get past how nice your plants look. Mine aren't so nice. What's your average temps there? And what's your set up?

Average temperatures here in Melbourne are around 25 degrees Celsius over the summer period:
http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/averages/tables/cw_086071_All.shtml

We have some extremely hot days (40+) and some not so hot days (~14) during summer.

Seeds were sprouted mid October using a cheap indoor greenhouse, jiffy pellets, a heat mat and a halogen light.