• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Meyer Lemon Trees

Any other pepper people out there that have success growing Meyer Lemon trees? I picked up an improved (grafted) Meyer shoot from Amazon in hopes i can have a few home grown lemons for cooking ingredients. I transplanted it into what is probably about a 4 gallon square pot full of pea gravel, perlite, and potting soil. I've been keeping it damp and given it a couple waterings of 5-1-1 fish fertilizer mix. So far it seems to be responding well. Anyone else have some info and tips? 

Unpacked from the post office 9/5/2014:
Meyer_Lemon_cutting.jpg

Update 12/17/2014:
DSF0704.jpg

The grafting healed up nicely 12/17/2014:
DSF0706.jpg

I grew one lemon and some key limes from seed. Citrus usually grow true. Another year or so and they should start flowering.

Nice start. I have been growing for 15 years. Usually get about 50-75 fruit from my container plant. 4' X 6'.

my Meyer Lemon is sitting in a window now with about 20 lemons getting ready to ripen. It seems to take forever. I live in the North East 

chsy83 said:

4'X6' size of container, or plant?

lol i'm pretty sure thats plant size... 4 ft wide 6 ft tall. At least i hope so.

LUCKYDOG said:
my Meyer Lemon is sitting in a window now with about 20 lemons getting ready to ripen. It seems to take forever. I live in the North East 

Any tricks on growing in a window? Mine is in front of a sliding glass door. I'm guessing you turn it every so often to get even growth?

boostdemon said:

lol i'm pretty sure thats plant size... 4 ft wide 6 ft tall. At least i hope so.

Any tricks on growing in a window? Mine is in front of a sliding glass door. I'm guessing you turn it every so often to get even growth?