• Please post pictures and as much information as possible.

7 Pot Brain Yellow

Here my 7 pot brain strain yellow? It has a delicious citrus, tropical  taste and super hot! The best tasting super hot I've tried. I have been growing this one for 2 years now and it is finally producing very nice pods. It is very wrinkly like a brain strain. Can you confirm that this is the name of the pepper as I want to take seeds from this pod for next season's crop. The pod itself is about 6cm in diameter, and about 5cm long.

yep, my yellow 7 pods look exactly like that, i love the marbling colour change from green to yellow but i can't confirm it is a brain but the pimpling may point to a brain. i also love the lasting flavour it leaves on my breath.

Looks like the yellow brains I grew this past year. Really liked it, on my grow list again this year.

SBJJIYOl.jpg

It doesn't produce that many pods. You are right. I wonder how to feed it so that it produces more. I always worry about feeding as I don't want to overdo it.

I've got a related question.

Impending Bending gave me some plants last spring, including one "Yellow Brainstrain."  It generally produced much smoother pods than classic BS varieties, and the color is really more of a light, saturated orange than any yellow.

YBS.jpg

I'm wondering if these are more of an Orange 7 pod, rather than YBS? 

My peppers tend to vary, some looking like this...  (Red / Yellow Brains.)

hpim3223.jpg

and others are much smoother, more closely resembling Judy's Orange 7 Pod

orange_7_pod.jpg

A few even grew scorpion-like stingers.

I'm guessing that whatever I've got is not quite stable.  Not a worry, they grow well, taste great and are absolutely insane on the heat.

I'm just wondering, what's the consensus regarding these apparently related varieties?  How many distinct varieties are there?

TY