• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

soil Soilless Mix

Hiya all!

I have on hand coconut husk chips, coconut coir, fir bark, Baccto (potting mix with sedge peat, perlite, sand), and plenty of perlite. Also some leftover peat-perlite-vermiculite from last year.

Does anyone have any good recipes using the above? I was going to do equal parts chips, bark, and perlite but I have no first hand experience with coco anything so I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Hoping to find a good general purpose mix for transplants and smaller plants kept indoors in containers that doesn't rely on peat (hate working with the stuff).

Thanks much, would love to hear what everyone else is using!

queequeg152 said:
50% peat or fine coir and 50% perlite. its that simple yo.

now if you dont want to water every day, loose some perlite, or switch to verm, but your pore space and oxygen diffusion rates will suffer accordingly.

a bulk density around .1 - .15 grams per centimeter is ideal.
http://thehotpepper.com/topic/37333-making-cornell-peat-lite-like-a-boss/
Yeah, that's a very common recipe. I've been doing a bit of internet searching these last couple of days on this. Do you think it is desirable to add some lime to the recipe? One recipe I saw added 1 tsp dolomitic lime per 1 gallon starter mix.

for peat? or for coir?

for peat yea you NEED to... for coir, you do not need to add anything.

if you go to that thread, you will see i talk at some length about liming and the lime charge i had to add to the mix.

queequeg152 said:
50% peat or fine coir and 50% perlite. its that simple yo.

now if you dont want to water every day, loose some perlite, or switch to verm, but your pore space and oxygen diffusion rates will suffer accordingly.